India Dish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rhart108

Assistant Cook
Hi, I'm new to Discuss Cooking so bear with me if I mess up this post. I have new neighbors from India and I would like to make them a simple dish to welcome them to the neighborhood. Does anyone know of a fairly simple but nice dish I could make? I do need to get the ingredients from a local Stop & Shop though, so nothing requiring heavy shopping. Hope I posted this correctly? Thanks!

Welcome to DC rhart.

I wouldn't make them an Indian dish - they can probably do that a lot better than you can. ;)

Is there a dish from your heritage that you are really good at making?

You might want to find out if they eat meat, pork, beef, before cooking something for them.

I would agree with Taxlady. Make something you already do well, and that you know will work.

Welcome to DC!

Oh Yes! That would be much easier. I was just worried they would be gracious, thank me for the welcome, close the door, and throw out the food. Lol! I don't have a real definitive heritage. I cook from everywhere, rather a mutt. But I do make a good Shrimp Mozambique. And no worries, there is no meat involved. Although, if they have a seafood allergy, I'm screwed. Thank you both for the great advice and giving me a warm welcome to DC. And just to give you something in return (huge laugh), when I initially read your replies and you said welcome to DC, I thought to myself "I'm from Massachusetts, not DC" what are they talking about? And yes, I am blonde, but I cook rather well so I think thats a wash. Thanks Again!

Just a word of caution. Many Indians are also vegetarians you might want to confirm whether or not they are vegetarians before you bring them a dish.