ISO Help with Garlic

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HomeCook58

Assistant Cook
I am new to cooking and this forum and I am a senior citizen.

I am confused about uses of garlic. I bought a jar of minced garlic and many recipes call for cloves of garlic, then crushed, cracked, mashed, minced etc.
CONFUSED I am to say the least ... none of my cookbooks seem to tell me how to use or fix garlic.

I have a bag of them 0h they are white and there must be a dozen in the bag. white skin like an onion.
from there I am lost.

Hi HomeCook :)
I believe for the minced garlic that you purchased, you can use ½ to 1 tsp for the equivalent to 1 clove. You can also check the label on the product, as it should give you a better idea.

Also, as for your bag of garlic - each head of garlic has many cloves in it. Each will look individually wrapped in a papery coating. This makes them easy to seperate.
If you take the full head and give it a slight twist between your hands, a couple of the cloves should break free. From there, If you cut JUST the hard end off (where it was attached), and then place the remainder on a cutting board, you can CAREFULLY place a large knife flat on top of it (parallel to the cutting board), and again CAREFULLY give a small whack with the heel of your hand.
This will slightly break the clove, and the paper will easily peel off.

Make sure to keep your garlic in a cool dark place, or it will sprout!

As far as crushed, cracked, minced, etc.... just cut it up into tiny pieces and you should be fine :)

Last edited:
Great advice, Jkath! I keep my fresh garlic in the fridge, seems to help with the sprouting problem. I like to keep a jar of minced garlic in the fridge, so convenient for sauce and all.