How do I boil potatoes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Countrywalks

Assistant Cook
Hi to everyone here, this is my first post and as you can tell im new to kooking so i need some very simple basics to get me a good start so i dont pick up any bad habits from the start.

How do i boil red desiree potatoes?

my cooker goes from one to six 0 = off
if i put them on 6 they bubble and throth up and over flowing the saucepan, and on 2 they seem to simmer, and on 3 they boil very gentle, and on 4 they start to over flow the pan again, so how do you guys do it?

the potato will be used for mash when they are soft.

TIA

I was told many years ago that root vegetables are best simmered so they cook evenly throughout. Now I'm not a professional chef, but that's what works for me.
I always rinse the potatoes after they have been cut to wash off some of the starch, which is what causes the froth. At least that is what my Oma told me.:)

And, welcome to DC.

Well, you want the setting to give you boiling without boiling over.

For mashed, it's better to cut the potatoes into uniform chunks for faster more uniform cooking. Put the cut up potatoes into well salted tap water the put the pot on the hob. Bring the water to a boil then adjust to keep the pot from boiling over.

If boil over remains an issue, use a larger pot.

I also rinse the red potatoes, cut out any bad spots, put them in a pot and cover them with water and simmer until tender. My stove has no numbers, adjustments are all made by looking at the flame and guessing how much it takes to getting them gently simmering. If it's just a few red potatoes, 5 or 6, into a bowl and into the microwave. I can't remember red potatoes frothing up, boiling over, yes, but not frothing. I boiled 10 pounds of reds Sunday night and had good luck with a simmer.