Fried green tomatoes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
In my experience, and I've been making fried green tomatoes for many, many years, the best tomatoes for this purpose are uniformly green, firm tomatoes with no blemishes and no evidence of ripening. The ones I fry are quite firm, almost hard, because they're definitely not ripe.

I like to pick them just before they start to get color. Look at the bottom of the tomato and when I see some white starting to form they are mature but not ripe.

Some of the resturants in Atlanta have the best. Mary Mack's Tea Room are to die for. they have a spicy Ranch that I am working on duplicating. I like mine firm, no color. Sliced and placed in a bag with Salt and white corn meal. Fry up in an cast iron skillet until brown.

For those of you who desire a little less oil or fat, I've tried this recipe with success.
Thin slice very unripe green tomatoes. Dredge them through corn meal, salt, pepper and a little Parmesan cheese. place on cookie sheet and spray with olive oil (there's that Misto again) and place under your oven broiler. When they begin to get that slightly scorched look flip them over and spray with olive oil again. The result is lighter, less greasy and still full of flavor.

One of the best sandwiches I ever ate in my life was at the Asheville airport's grill. Fried green tomatoes, roasted red peppers, an asiago cheese slice and remoulade sauce, all on sourdough bread.

It no longer shows on the menu but this is one of the better restaurants I've eaten at. Asheville Regional Airport :: Dining + Gifts

I make mine pretty simply.