How to use this cube of cheddar cheese?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenny1999

Senior Cook
hi i've got a cube of this solid hard cheddar cheese and some raw spaghetti. I am new to cooking. I've tried cooking the spaghetti and then put the untreated cheese on top on the cooked spaghetti and add some salt to that, but it does'nt really taste good. Is there any simple method of making a better plate of spaghetti? I don't want to waste this expensive cheddar cheese and the cheese will expire very soon.

0cefc3eccd89.jpg

I'd be slicing the cheese and have some hard salami and crackers. If you want to use it with spaghetti, add some butter to the hot noodles along with some garlic then grate some of the cheddar on top and toss it all together.

Turn it into mac and cheese. Start cooking the spaghetti, melt some butter, add milk to it, warm gently, then add the cheese in slices or shredded to melt. Stir in the spaghetti when it's done.

First of all, cheese doesn't really expire. If a little mold grows on the outside, just cut it off and use the rest. I use cheddar that way that's grown a bit of mold all the time (did it just a couple of days ago for a salami and cheese and jalapeno sandwich). Cut away the mold and what's inside is just fine. Cheese was invented to be a way of preserving milk or cream.

I'd use it for mac and cheese, or make a cheese sauce for broccoli or cauliflower, to put on potatoes, or any other cheesy recipe. Just heat up a cup of milk or cream and melt grated cheese in it until it's a consistency that you like - a little salt and pepper and it works on a lot of things.

Last edited: