Meal idea for a new cook?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tribalbob

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone, I searched around the internet and came upon this forum, so I thought I'd sign up and see if you guys can help out.

I'm a pretty experienced cook, been doing it for the last 12 years or so - I've made a wide range of things and I know my way around a kitchen alright. However, I'm dating a girl who cannot cook, but has expressed interest in learning (apparently she claims she's so bad, she can burn grilled cheese).

I decided that a fun idea might be to have her over one night and we can make something together. However, I'm trying to find a recipe that would work well, so I'm hoping someone here might have something in mind that meets this criteria:

- Should be relatively simple (Can be a -little- complex since I'll be there, but I'd like to start her off with something basic)
- Should be something that might be fun for two people to make together
- Needs to be meat-less (she's a pescatarian - so seafood like fish is ok, but just no chicken, beef or pork)
- Also can't have rice - she's not a big rice person.

EDIT: Regarding no meat, things like beef bouillon is ok - she eats gravy, for example - just not the actual meat itself.

If anyone has any ideas, I would appreciate it!

Last edited:
How about just simple grilled catfish or flounder, served with steamed veggies and a garden salad?

Would that work? If you steam mixed veggies and melt some cheese and put the melted cheese over the veggies, that might work ok.

Or instead of the veggies, boil some corn on the cob. We love that too. You can always dress up the basic lettuce salad with radishes, grape tomatoes, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, diced ham, cut up bell pepper, a bit of red onion, and some real bacon pieces with the dressing of your choice.