Large Fruit Scones

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ows

Assistant Cook
Hello All,

I am trying to make big fruit scones. I am a reasonably experienced baker and have baked lots of sweet cakes and pastries successfully in the past. I am trying to make scones - I have made fruit scones before but mine never seem to rise very much and always end up small and crumbly. Whenever I go to a cafe or hotel and order a scone they are always massive and I can never get mine that size. I have tried many different recipes and used baking powder. I even spoke to the chef at a luxury hotel near me who gave me his fruit scone recipe and I still can't seem to be able to make them very big. Please could you give me some advice/suggestions?

Many Thanks!

Commercial kitchens have much larger pans and put more batter in them. So it is basically the same recipe that you use. But when you make them, you are making a smaller batch of batter, so your scones are not as high or as big as a commercial kitchen. You could try to put more batter in the pan and baking it for just a few more minutes.

Welcome to DC. This is a fun place to be. Lots of laughter and information for everyone.

Bakerchef, where are you? You are needed. :angel:

Hi, and welcome to DC :)

Can you provide the recipe you use that doesn't work? That would help us figure out what might be wrong with the ingredients or technique.

Hi ows! Glad you found us.

Like GotGarlic stated, a recipe would be very helpful. I do make scones a lot. Generally speaking, I have found most recipes deliver a dry batter. I usually add a bit more liquid than called for after making a recipe for the first time. Once you try a recipe, you can play with it to make it work best for you.