Roasted a pork shoulder - help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pmgirly

Assistant Cook
Hi all I am new to this forum.
I am a pretty good cook been doing it for about 40 years now
So here is the issue for Christmas's I do meatballs in red sauce, salad and rav's - every year - this year I have decided to do a Pork Roast (shoulder) with cannelli (sp? white beans) too, with a side of mushroom gravy.
I have a 3.5 roast but I am not sure how long to cook it? I think about 3 hours at about 350. I have a convection roast/bake option on my range, which I will use so it will cook faster than normal. The timing is very important since I have so many dishes going on at the same time and I have to serve by 3:00. I can't remember if it has a bone in or not, I will have to check when I get home - but I don't think it has the bone in. It will have garlic and rosemary stuffed into it and will be marinated overnight in olive oil, lemon, garlic, rosemary, S&P and probably a little thyme
thanks..so I need times for both bone in or not

I'm thinking about 13 minutes per pound @ 375'F, if you want to serve in slightly pink in the middle. Use a meat thermometer and pull the roast when the center meat reads 145' F. It will have a wonderful pork flavor, be juicy, and tender.

For a more traditional pork roast, cook in a covered roasting pan, or dutch oven, in a slow oven of 325' for about two hours, or until the internal temp reads 190'F, This will melt all of the collagen, and make the roast ridiculously tender, while keeping it juicy.

For both roasts, I would cover with onion slices.

Make gravy from the pan drippings.

Seeeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North

If you have the time roast it low and slow.