When you read a recipe...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CWS4322

Chef Extraordinaire
I spend a lot of time reviewing recipes. I am pretty good at picking out where there is an Oops! missed a step or this is not going to work. In another life, I kept a file of bad sentences (when I was an editor). I now have a collection of bad recipes/techniques. My current fav is a recipe for a rice pilaf with fresh asparagus tips. The instructions had the tios being cooked with the rice for 20 minutes. Yuck-I didn't need to cook that to know the asparagus would be worse than canned (I think I likened the asparagus tips to worse than baby Sh*t when I sent my comments back W/out having to make the recipe). I often review recipes with a flat flavour profile where the mid and high notes are missing.

Wondering what red flags others pick up on when reading recipes? I have a lot more "not gonna work recipes," but asparagus tip pilaf is one of my favs. What are some of your favs?

One that always bugs me is the direction to add garlic too soon. Years ago, before I really learned to cook, I frequently burned garlic because of that. I thought I was doing something wrong. Now I know it was bad recipe writing.

Unless I am baking, at home I cook on the fly. When testing a recipe or cooking for a restaurant, I follow the recipe exactly, including timing with timers. It ticks me off when I am told "you should've cooked that at 400" when the temp written was 350. Gee, make sure your recipes are written correctly before you have s/one else make them. Just saying. I baked cornbread muffins according to the recipe. The line cook complained almost every dsy. Finally the Exec chef looked at the recipe and said "the recipe is wrong." Not my fault.