American English

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rickydixtor

Assistant Cook
First I'm sorry to disturb, but I am a writer in my language and in need of a native American-English Speaker, so I thought it's good to register here.
It's about the following conversation:

Bryan: But they are not the same then.
Cathy: No they aren´t.

The "no" confuses me. So I ask myself what Cathy want's to say with her answer:
a) That's wrong. In my opinion they are the same.
b) I agree, They are not the same.

Gesendet von meinem SM-G901F mit Tapatalk

She is agreeing with Bryan.
b.
She has abbreviated her answer, and if she were to be more specific and finish her thought, she would say, "No they aren't the same".

Also it is confusing because it is almost like a double negative -- the "no" and then the "aren't". So it's almost like saying "I don't have no plans for dinner tonight" which is a double negative and not grammatically correct.

Yes it is confusing and yes it is like a double negative.

It might have been more clear if she had said, "No" and then said nothing else.
OR
It might have been more clear if she had said, "They aren't." or finished the thought with, "They aren't the same."

Yes. All replies (so far) vote it is B.

If it were A) I think indicates they are not in agreement. Then there should be further dialogue while one or the other or both of them defend their statement and the conversation would/ should become more clear to the reader.

Thx :)
Just to make sure I understand the opening statement of Bryan correct:
The words "but" and "then" in his sentence "but they are not the same then" don't change the meaning so:
"but they are not the same then." = "they are not the same.", correct?

Last edited:
Yes. And she's essentially saying "No, they are not the same."