Cheesecake Blues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

meltingpotmama

Assistant Cook
I "attempted" to make a New York Style cheesecake yesterday and the beginning of the recipe told me to bake it at 450 for 15 min. During this time, it burned on the top. I've seen other recipes that tell me to even bake it at 500 for 10 min. I'm wanting to make a cheesecake for Christmas this year, but don't know how to do it w/ o burning it. Also, the middle was not like a baked cheesecake, more creamy than the dry I like. Does anyone have a foolproof recipe that is easy to follow for the novice baker and should I have lowered my oven rack. I used a springform pan so I thought it'd come out beautifully. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

JoAnn E.:chef:

JoAnn:

Here is a recipe I have been using for several years and it is FANTASTIC! Everyine I serve it to raves about it. It's worth doing. I'm making it again for Christmas.

Cheesecake

For the Crust:
2 1/3 C Graham Cracker Crumbs
1/2 C Unsalted Butter, melted
1/4 C Sugar

For the Filling:

2 Lb Cream Cheese, room temp.
1 1/2 C Sugar
1/4 C Flour
5 Eggs
16 Oz Sour Cream
1/4 C Milk
1 T Vanilla Extract

Make the Crust:
Position the oven rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 375° F.

Wrap the outside of a 10-inch-diameter springform pan with heavy-duty foil.

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor. Pulse just until the crumbs are moist.

Press the crumb mixture firmly onto the bottom and 2 inches up the sides of the prepared pan. Use a flat bottomed glass or measuring cup to press the crumbs into place.

Bake until the crust begins to brown, about 8 minutes. Transfer the pan to a cooling rack. Maintain oven temperature.

Make the Filling:
Using an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and sugar in a large bowl until will blended then beat in the flour.