Need a dessert for 21st birthday party!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

themonkeytree

Senior Cook
I need some help thinking of a dessert to make for my friends 21st birthday. I need there to be enough for 20 to 30 people. I am not the best baker, but if I have a recipe I understand it fine and can follow it. My real problem with desserts is the presentation, because I am not good at tempered chocolate garnishes, or piping fancy designs. I do not even want to deal with sugar garnishes, because carmel can be so messy.

I don't want to go with something simple like cookies or brownies, and I am willing to try something complex, just as long as there is not too much piping involved.

I asked my friend what he wants and he said he did not know. The only information he gave me was he wanted vanillia, not chocolate, but a little chocolate on the dessert would not be bad. It just shouldnt be something like a chocolate chiffon cake, even though it is delicious.

LPBeier's Coconut cream pound cake, made in a ring mold, would serve 20 or more easily. It is so rich you can slice it thin and everyone will still be satisfied. I used a cream cheese icing and it was deliciout. My frozen walnut cream torte would also be great, but you would have to make at least two of them (maybe more, they're yum)

I'll be glad to share the torte recipe, however I've never come across a dessert using bacon. Bacon would be considered a savory whereas dessert implies a sweet.

FROZEN WALNUT CREAM TORTE,
Cake:
4 tsp Unsalted Butter - softened,
2 Tbsp Flour,
5 Egg Yolks,
5 Egg Whites,
3/4 C Sugar,
1 Tbsp Vanilla,
1/2 C Fresh Bread Crumbs - toasted in the oven,
1 C Ground Walnuts,

Butter two 9" cake pans and line bottoms with wax paper. Coat pans evenly with flour. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.