Tapioca pudding - help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

profnot

Cook
I made tapioca pudding from the box, following the directions but used almond milk instead of dairy milk.

I've made this a few times with the same disappointing results: the pudding just doesn't set up nicely. The tapioca pearls stay small, even if I soak them longer. I tried boiling a few minutes longer this time, which helped a little.

Is it the almond milk or is it me?

Is this yet another chemistry thing I don't understand?

My allergies prefer me to avoid dairy so I'd like to solve this problem.

Many thanks for your help!

I have 30 years of experience failing to make good large pearl tapioca in milk. Gramma could do it and I cannot.

Interesting.. I grew up eating tapioca pudding but, haven't had it for many years.. I have to try some again..

I've never made it myself so, that might be interesting.. :ermm:

Ross

I haven't had tapioca pudding since I was in primary school but the very thought of it still gives me a bad attack of the shudders. We used to call it frogspawn - all slimey and yuk.

I made tapioca pudding from the box, following the directions but used almond milk instead of dairy milk.

I've made this a few times with the same disappointing results: the pudding just doesn't set up nicely. The tapioca pearls stay small, even if I soak them longer. I tried boiling a few minutes longer this time, which helped a little.

Is it the almond milk or is it me?

Is this yet another chemistry thing I don't understand?

My allergies prefer me to avoid dairy so I'd like to solve this problem.

Many thanks for your help!
If I remember correctly from my last student vac when I worked as a cook in an old people's home - tapioca comes in different sized pearls. Perhaps you had a small version?