12/17/10 TGIFriday What's Cooking?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zhizara

Chef Extraordinaire
Moderator Emeritus
I braised the pork shoulder in sherry and water last night and stuck it in the fridge.

The bottom third of it cooked directly in the braising liquid, so the meat from that side of the roast will have a rich flavor.

I'm stripping the roast and separating sections for different bags for the freezer. I'm going to marinate some shredded pork in taco seasoning and a can of stewed diced tomatoes. I'll probably put it in the freezer so it will be yummy for tacos or burritos later on.

I'll take that bottom braised meat and taste test it for ideas. I've never done this with sherry before, but the broth tastes really good. Not sweet, but really rich.

So that's the way my day is headed. How about you?

Last edited:
I gonna try a new cake recipe, based on genoise and round chocolates :)
I'm not sure about the recipe yet !

I'm going to make egg foo yung and sesame noodles. Hope I can pull this off. Two first time recipes in the same meal.

frenchy...i had to look up "genoise" but it was well worth the effort...yum! You and jabbur are certainly adventurous today.

I marinated a flank steak overnight in Good Seasons Italian Dressing that I had cut across the top in a crisscross pattern about 1/8" deep. Tonite I'll quickly sear it on both sides and finish it off in the oven at 350 for 7 min. I'm serving it with Carmelized Balsamic Red Onions and bright green Haricots Verts (french green beans).

I'm going to make Sam's Brandied chicken tonight. Not sure on the sides or the salad yet. I'm leaning toward a killer coleslaw.

Were headed out to cut our tree, in the rain. It's storming here.Get some shopping done. I'll make a casserole, bake a loaf of french bread before we go. Heat and eat when we get home.

HO-HO-HO!! :LOL:

Munky.