Any ideas for a dinner mixing asparagus and ground turkey?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Silver

Senior Cook
Hi guys! I'm new to the forum and am enjoying reading it all so far, so I thought you folk may be able to give me some new ideas from time to time.

So looking in my crisper, I see asparagus that needs to be eaten ASAP and then there's some ground turkey that'll only last two more days. I'm cooking for two and have about 300'ish grams (about 10 oz) of turkey.

Thoughts? Ideas? I'd like to make something interesting, but have no idea how to combine those two in any way, shape, or form. I'm a relative cooking newbie, so overly complicated probably won't work well either. I have most standard goodies on hand (onions, garlic, etc) and there's a grocery store minutes away for anything that I'm lacking.

Thanks for any ideas anyone has!

I feel a pasta dish coming on!

Brown the turkey until it loses pink color and drain.

Cook your choice of pasta (fettucine would be good) in boiling salted water (like the sea) until just flexible, and add the asparagus to the boiling water. Once the asparagus is crisp tender and the pasta al dente, drain, saving 2 cups or so of pasta water.

In a large skillet, melt 3 tbls butter. Sweat 2 tsps diced garlic (fresh or from a jar) until soft. Add 3 tbls flour, and blend thoroughly. Remove from heat and add 3 cups whole milk, a little at a time, whisking as you go.

Return skillet to med/high heat, and cook, stirring frequently, until mixture starts to bubble. Reduce heat to medium, and cook, constantly stirring, until thickened. Add 2 ozs cream cheese and 1 cup (or more) freshly grated parmesan. Season with salt, white pepper, and a grating of nutmeg.

Add cooked turkey and stir well. Add sliced mushrooms and pimentoes if you wish. Toss in drained pasta and asparagus.