I want to eat your food.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kelly-anne

Assistant Cook
Hi folks. As you can see I'm new to DC and I am yet to come across anyone else form UK so far. So I was hoping you could maybe share some of you're ideas for a basic and hearty all American supper that I could cook up for the DH this evening here in a windy and bleak Edinburgh where we are fast approaching Autumn (well prob already there).:chef:

Look forward to your inspiration.

I agree. Stew with meat and veg over biscuits or a hearty soup, navy bean or split pea with ham and popovers. Or a simple tasty mixed roast: say chicken pieces and veg like potatoes and carrots seasoned with salt and pepper, olive oil and some herbs (tarragon rosemary parsley) and a splash of white wine, roasted at 375F for about 45 min.

A chicken pot pie would be nice, a small salad to go with and a some pie for dessert

kadesma

Hot dogs and baked beans, either separate, or with the dogs cut up into the beans and it all baked in the oven.

With apple pie for dessert, natch!

Lee

apple pie sounds like a great suggestion from other posters!!!

didn't post my main thought-

chix stew over biscuits or sausage gravy over biscuits.

Kelly-anne While thinking about this I reached for one of my favorite cookbooks - "Spoonbread and Strawberry Wine" by the Darden sisters, they both are still living. Their grandfather was a slave. I like their spoonbead and also their sweet potato pudding topped with marshallows. Either or both should go well with many things, especially fried chiciken.

I did buy the peanut buttter and jam and had two whole wheat bread sandwiches with cold milk.

I love a good bowl of borscht also - made so thick that the wooden spoon stands up in the pot!