The power of a good stock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ham Hock

Cook
Here of late (the last 5 years maybe) I have grown to seriously respect the power of good stock.

The casual standard, MaryquaW, [I cant spellit] is just the tip of the ice burg. It's like at least better than water to me.

Generally these days if it calls for "water" in anything I cook, I am looking for the alternative.

I love "super" condensed stock, almost a syrup in sugar terms.

A good stock just gives me tremendous courage.

I have cooked stock adding to it for 4 days to get to flavors that come from nowhere else.
By the time you cook it to that level, you can add it to most anything and it will taste like a skunk on a stump
(Jest kidding)

And a sauciers dream............

These days if I cant START with SOME kind of stock, I just dont even want to cook it.

I am not a professional chef by any stretch of the imagination. Not even remotely close. But I can tell by what I have learned that a true chef takes a good stock very seriously.

Last edited:
I frequently make my own chicken stock, but have never mastered beef stock. I do have some beef soup bones in the freezer from a friend who has buys his beef on the hoof and has it butchered. They've been in there over a year...I guess I need to get them out and make my broth.
From what I've read, you put them in a roaster pan along with carrots, celery, onions, garlic, olive oil, tomato paste, S&P, and dried herbs of your choice, and let the whole thing caramelize. Then you remove the meat and vegies from the pan and put in a stock pot. Put water in the pan, put it on the burner and let come to a boil to deglaze the pan, then add the liquid to the stock-pot along with enough water to cover the bones and vegies, and let simmer for hours. Finally strain, discard bones and vegies, and simmer stock, uncovered, until reduced by half.