What makes you a good cook in the eyes of others?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CharlieD

Chef Extraordinaire
Sarah called me a terrific cook, thank you. But what makes people think that you are in fact good? The other day I cooked for about 40-50 people including kids. It was three-day event. First two days I cooked Chinese diner the last one it was Ukrainian. There was this guy who came to the kitchen to help carry stuff to the table. I was sautéing some onions, I think, and was flipping them in the frying pan, not by using a spoon, but you know, like chefs do. What is it called? You know what I’m talking about, right? So when he saw that it really impressed him. Food that people couldn’t stop complementing me did not impressed him, but flipping some silly onions in the frying pan proved to him that I am a great chef. To me it is silly. Am I wrong? What do people say about you? Do you have stories like that?

IMO it is very simple. You are a good cook if people like your food. That is it. The rest is just extra.

that's a tough question...
how can you really determine what another person thinks?
hmmmmmmmmmm....

People have always said that they admire ability to play with recipes & make them mine. I have also been told that my willingness to experiment in the kitchen makes me a god cook. I don't let things intimidate me. Plus whether I follow a recipe to the "t"(which is rare)or make up a concoction, it seems to turn out good.

GB said:
IMO it is very simple. You are a good cook if people like your food. That is it. The rest is just extra.

That's the way it is. Most people don't see you cook, they base their opinion on the results. If it does not taste good, look good, and smell good to them, they could care less about your chef's flourishes.

GB said: