What's for din-din? Sat, Jan 24th

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steve Kroll

Wine Guy
We're headed out to our dinner club party in a few minutes. Tonight's theme is "south of the border" and I'm in charge of the appetizer round. I made a Ceviche of Shrimp and Sea Bass, Bacon and Roasted Tomatillo Guacamole, and a tomato-less salsa from dried guajillo and arbole chiles.

The invitation didn't specify which border, so I hope I chose the right one. ;)

Sounds good, Steve.

Kind of a southwestern theme going on here, too. Black bean and corn salad with avocados, and pulled pork tacos.

We have enough Thai takeout leftovers to last us for a couple more days.

I'm a short order cook in my house. I made my husband a nice steak with potatoes that I cooked in the pan after I took the steak out. Red Wine, butter, spices.

I made my favorite go to cole slaw recipe. Broccoli slaw from the store, lemon yogurt, lemon juice, mayo, raisins, and sun flower seeds. I also made my favorite kind of Turkey burgers (greek with feta, kalmata, and sundried tomatoes in oil, other misc stuff). I had one of the turkey burgers to go with the slaw.

A cook’s best friend: Parsley. Brightens up today’s spelunked Beef Stew. Shredded cabbage salad with grapes and home-made blue cheese dressing. A handful of grapes for evening treat later.

So for some reason a made a ton of french onion soup yesterday, we had some for lunch and still have a gallon left, lol...

So for dinner I made some fresh croutons {is that an oxymoron} the size of my bowls, shredded some boars head lacey swiss, and since I had to clean my slicer anyway I sliced some sirloin nice and thin then cooked it in a pan with some mushrooms and butter, removed the shaved steak and made what was left in the pan into a fast sauce...

So I know its weird but we had a cheesy french onion soup with some shaved steak, it was good..