I will never buy store made macaroni salad again

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jd_1138

Sous Chef
We forgot to get macaroni salad last week from the store, and GF loves it with her BBQ dogs/burgers. So I decided to make some which I never made before. I never looked up any recipes, but I knew it has hard-boiled egg, mayo, celery, onions, pepper, salt, paprika, etc.. I've been eating the stuff for nearly 50 years. lol.

I had everything on hand -- just enough elbow macaroni left. I didn't have celery though, so I fine-diced some green pepper to replace the celery. It came out delicious and way better than deli-bought macaroni salad. For some reason the local deli at the store puts a lot of vinegar in their macaroni salad. It makes it taste bad.

Plus the price is way cheaper for homemade -- like 1/5th the price per volume.

Last edited:
Vinegar for macaroni salad is popular in Hawaiian Mac Salad. I make one of those, and I make a more traditional Mac salad too. You might try adding Celery Seed or Celery Seasoning (no celery in it) to the salad next time. Won't have the crunch, but will give even more celery flavor to the salad.

I'm totally with you on homemade vs store bought! I think Mac salad would be my least favorite of the pre-made kind. Something about the texture is off for me. Plus, it is easy to make, once you've got the macaroni cooked, piece of cake.

We forgot to get macaroni salad last week from the store, and GF loves it with her BBQ dogs/burgers. So I decided to make some which I never made before. I never looked up any recipes, but I knew it has hard-boiled egg, mayo, celery, onions, pepper, salt, paprika, etc.. I've been eating the stuff for nearly 50 years. lol.