ISO Healthy diet advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mapmai

Assistant Cook
I'm a college student and I dorm at my school. There's a variety of foods here, but it's not healthy foods. I eat fruits and salads, but would anybody have an idea of how to stay healthy even with all this greasy unhealthy food?

Hi mapmai, welcome to DC. You are on the right track keep going! Eating more veggies and fruit than other foods is critical. You need to make sure you have some whole grains in there and thats pretty easy to do. Choose whole wheat bread anytime you can, and buy a box of Cheerios to snack on in your room. Make sure you get some protein every day (can you have peanut butter in your room?) and try to choose chicken or fish if possible. Try to choose unbreaded and leaner pieces of meat. Keep up with your dairy intake. Choose yogurt and have a cup or two or milk a day. Its the snacking that will kill you in a dorm. Its pretty tough to find stuff that isn't empty calories. If you can find trail mix or dried fruit slices that might help, but even those can be a danger if you eat too much of them. Maybe someone else will have some better ideas for you.

You should be eating plenty of whole grains, veggies, fruits, and low or no fat dairy. Make sure you get lean portions of meat: chicken, turkey, and fish. Have good breakfasts that have fiber (whole grain toast, english muffin, or high fiber cereal). Yogurt is always good, but try to get ones with little sugar. Yoplait light and Dannon Light n Fit are my favorites. Reduced fat string cheese and skim milk are good. Try to get beans in your diet...canned black or pinto beans are super easy to make. For snacks, definitely fresh fruit and veggies. Dry cereal is good for a snack too. An ounce of nuts for protein is good, but don't have too much, because of all the fat. Here's some tips I found online; hope they help you: