Stomach Soother

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

luvs

Master Chef
i swear by this for nausea. just mix a little honey, water, and ginger and microwave till warm.
it doesn't have to be a lot, just a few ounces works.

I know it's been a while since anybody has posted in here but I'm new to the forum so it's the first time I saw it! Anyway, I have coached many pregnant women (I'm an herbologist/massage therapist) and there are couple things I have each one of them do. These both work in most cases, but with ginger I do take some precautions... There are some studies (not proctored very well in my opinion though) that suggest that if a pregnant woman has a low platellate count that they should steer away from ginger. So, with that said, I suggest the two things for morning sickness/nausia in general. If you like the taste of ginger, great! I keep a quart jar of ginger tincture in my cupboard at all times. I will add about 2 tsp of the tincture to a glass and pour about 12oz of boiling h2o over top to get rid of the alcohol. Add about 2 tsp honey and 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice and you're done. This tastes great and really helps soothe the stomach. For people who don't like ginger (like my wife...) I have them keep a pot of boiling water on the stove with a couple cinnamon sticks in it. Pour yourself a 12 oz glass and again add the honey and lemon. This works very well.

I will sometimes add a couple drops of lavender oil once the drink has cooled down a bit (steam vaporizes essential oils...) if the person responds well to lavender...