Dry White Wine for recipes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SizzlininIN

Master Chef
Ok.....I already know I'm suppose to cook with the same wine I would drink. Well I'm no wine expert so tell me when you see a recipe that calls for dry white wine.....what wine do you use?

I would use an inexpensive savignon blanc or pinot grigio. You should't cook with really good wine, IMO but it does need to be drinkable.

I usually have a big bottle of Mezza Corona PG (see here:http://info.detnews.com/wine/columns/sutherland/details.cfm?id=107) in my fridge for cooking. And drinking in the summer.

I would not recommend using a California Chardonnay as they are usually quite oak-ey tasting which gets transferred to the food. SB and PG are usually quite dry and neutral tasting.

French wines made from chardonnay grapes often aren't as oak-ey but can be pricey.

I keep a box (yes box) of Franzia Chablis in my cabinet specifically for cooking. I enjoy wine, but do not drink it often (I am more of a beer guy) and I don't always feel like buying a bottle just for a recipe. With the wine in the box I always have it on hand. Inside the box is a bag that the wine is in. It is airtight so the wine will stay good forever even after you open it. It has a pour spout so what I do is I keep it on a high shelf. When I need some for a recipe I open the cabinet and place a measuring cup under the pour spout and I am good to go.

I do not know much about wines so I don't know which types are dry by name. I do not think Chablis is terribly dry so I am sure there are better choices. I got that because that is what the store had. The recipes I use it in turn out great so I will continue to use it. The box holds 5 liters and probably cost me about 10-12 bucks so it is a great bargain.