Cool Whip

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nazkaz

Assistant Cook
S there anything I can use instead of cool whip for a dessert recipe

You can make whipped cream and use that. Is this to be used as a topping or as part of the recipe to mix in with other ingredients?

Oh ok thanks Jennyema for the information! I live in the UK and found a dessert recipe that had cool whip in! We don't get it in the UK!

I know it is horrible fake stuff, but I love it.

Yeah like Dave said, whipped cream will be your best substitute.

I haven't had cool whip in a while, but it far "outperforms" the stuff in the can. Especially on pumpkin pie. Just sayin'. Give me tub or give me death.

I use Cool Whip to disguise Sour cream when I make my Dad's favorite fruit salad...crazy, I know.

I've been in the States for almost 9 years. I'm an avid cook. I had a recipe that called for Cool Whip for 4th of July this year. Thus begins the adventure. I didn't even know what it was. After 9 years!

So I'm looking in the supermarket for it. I don't even know where to look for it. I'm getting mad because I NEED to FIND it. I can't find it.I call my husband, I can't reach him. I'm mad. I leave without it. Husband calls back when I'm in the car.I say "too bad, not going back for that artificial blah blah stuff". I'm mad by this time. More that I can't find it than anything.

DH buys it on they way home with a grin on his face.

I make my flag cake for 4th of July and truthfully it is nasty stuff. More plastic than food. LOL.but it looks good!

Anyway, this is it.
Ratbird

I've been in the States for almost 9 years. I'm an avid cook. I had a recipe that called for Cool Whip for 4th of July this year. Thus begins the adventure. I didn't even know what it was. After 9 years!