Fish sauce sub?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eesta_bunny

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone. :chef: I'm a newbie here.
I found this interesting site while googling for substiutions for fish sauce. If you're a fan of Asian food, you'll understand where I'm coming from. Though I think fish sauce is delicious,:yum: the smell just doesn't agree with me at all so I'm looking for a possible substitute because omitting it completely, which I have been doing, leaves my recipe seeming like something's missing. I was wondering if a dollop of anchovie paste would work instead of the fish sauce? :question:

Any advice would be much appreciated. Nice to meet you all. :)

Fish sauce comes in an almost infinite variety. I suggest you should try a different fish sauce. Fish sauces vary by countries too. It seems to me that fish sauce from Vietnam is much stronger smelling than Thai fish sauce. Also, look for a clear fish sauce, not one with little fishes floating in it.

My favorite nam pla (fish sauce) is Cock brand from Thailand, has very little aroma, and an appearance of clear dark tea.

I have a few more robust fish sauces including with little fish inside but I generally use my favorite brand for most Thai cooking.

Mash up a few anchovies and mix them with couple of TBS of rice vinegar.

Might be worth a try. Perhaps better, just use anchovy paste.

How about oyster sauce?

Oyster sauce isn't really anything like fish sauce. It has a thick kind of smoky taste and lots of soy (which may or may not go with the recipe).

Last edited:
I can't stand anything fishy tasting, but I have no problem with fish sauce. I just make sure I don't get a good whiff of it before I add it to a dish. It really is a necessary ingredient in the Asian stuff I make.

Last edited: