A question on detergents and other cleaning solutions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

acetone

Assistant Cook
I've been washing dishes for over 10 years, and I clean my room and washroom roughly 3 times per month. However, my biggest concern is that I feel that I use way too many detergent and cleaning solutions to clean things. Usually, when I clean a group of dishes that fill up my sink halfway, I squeeze one tablespoon of Palmolive into a bowl, then fill it with hot water which I use to clean the dishes. When I clean the countertop of my sink, I give 10 sprays of Fantastik onto the counter to which I have to use a sponge roughly 4 times in order to get all the Fantastik out of the counter.

Would you consider them as wasting detergent and cleaning solutions? I've seen workers in restaurants using only 1 to 2 sprays of cleaning solution onto a large surface to which they use a cloth to wipe it entirely, and I feel that they used too less detergent, thus making the surface not as clean. Maybe just 1 to 2 sprays is enough?

Thanks a bunch!

The workers in restaurants are probably using something different...more along the lines of a clorax solution of some kind, or other chemical type solution. They know what they are doing and the health department will actually come in and test these surfaces on occasion for bad stuff.

Personally, I think you are thinking too hard about this when it comes to your own kitchen. If you are happy with the results then it's not too much. 10 squirts on my counters would be enough to do all the counters in my kitchen...and maybe even too much. I've never counted how many times I sponge something off to get it clean of a cleaning product...I only count steps when I go upstairs :ermm: