Eat or Toss?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AAA

Assistant Cook
OK, after the the pot of corned beef and cabbage was done, I set it outside to cool off...5 hours later, I remembered, and brought it in & put it in the fridge. The temp outside when I brought it in was 40 deg. Should I eat it, or toss it?

Please advise! -AAA

In general, I go with "When in doubt, throw it out." In this instance, though, we are talking about salted beef, and salting is done as a preservative. If it were me--and this is just for me--I'd reheat it and use it. JMHO

Thanks so much, but now I'm 50/50.... Do we have a tie-breaker?

I'm not really good at conversion, but I think 40F~4C. If that is the case then you should be fine. I think under 5C is what refrigerators need to be set to. I think this
but generally 2 to 8 °C (36 to 46 °F) is ideal for the refrigerator compartment and −18 °C (−0.4 °F) for the freezer
would indicate your corned beef is fine to eat as long as the temp was no higher than 46F

it is probably fine ,smell it ,taste it , if it was fully cooked it would have a hard time getting any bad bacteria going ,I am canadian but think 40F is under 6 C , Seriously ,we have washed off green meat backpacking ,then overcooked it and been fine. Your nose should tell you ,that is why it is placed above your mouth,
Botulinus has no taste or odour but it likes anerobic environments like cans.
Hold on ,I went and checked my thermometer ,40 F is 4C which is Safe

FrankZ, -It cooled from simmer to 40F over 5 hours. (Wouldn't it take that long in the fridge?)

I took your meaning as it was40F outside when you brought your dish in. Was it 40F the whole time (like a fridge) or was it warmer outside when you first put the dish out and the air temperature cooled?