Planting a vegetable/tomato garden in straw/hay bales?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
dh and I have been growing major gardens since 1976 and we do something like that. Because we have experienced drought conditions for more seasons than we like to think, we now mulch most of the garden with hay in various conditions. For the tomatoes, right after the plants go in the ground, we completely smother the tomatoes with baled hay right out of the barn. At that time of the spring, we are wanting to get the old hay out of the barn anyway. Bales are hauled to the tomato area, bale strings cut off and large flakes of hay are placed around each plant and between each plant. We may use 80 bales in the years I can tomatoes. We do not stake any tomato plant. In fact, we do not have to go into the tomato patch again until harvest time, unless it is dry like last year. I hand watered the tomato plants for several weeks right after they went into the garden last year.

We also use baled hay for potatoes. The corn gets the stuff right out of the goat pen (pre-fertilized:rolleyes:).

beth, that a bit different than what mikey and crewsk were talking about. they're using the baled hay as a sort of planter.

what you are doing is still the way to go for normal "in-the-ground" gradening. you're helping to keep the soil moist, and get it warmer earlier than bare or thinly covered soil.

lol, i think people think that tomatoes have to be caged or staked. tomatoes are a vining plant, so they would grow along the ground in a patch in their natural state much like a pumpkin or cucumber.