What variety Onions do you grow, and what do you do to ensure success?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
Ive been gardening for 25 years , and grew up helping my father with his garden , so I consider myself a relatively experienced home gardener ( except when it comes to onions ).

I was just curious what varieties work for you, and if you have any techniques that ensure predictability and success from year too year.

Due to my location, Long Day varieties are advised ( and what ive been doing consistently)

Ive tried Alisa Craig, Copra, walla walla, Spanish yellow and a few other varieties.
Ive used high nitrogen fertilizers ) as directed).

As far as I know, Im following all the growing directions accurately.

I grow them in raised beds with controlled soil and irrigation

I order from: https://www.dixondalefarms.com

Its not that I never have luck, just very unpredictable. Maybe 1 out of every 4 years is good ( and never great). If it was 1 out of 4 I'd chalk it off as maybe just not ideal weather conditions, but its too frequent to give Mother Nature all the blame. Ive had other crops do well in the same location over the years so I dont think its a sun issue.

IM thinking maybe Im just putting too much thought and effort and over thinking. I just laugh when I do all this reading and prep work, follow directions and then someone I bump into, with little experience just tosses them in without a care and has a much greater year than I do.

Same thing happened with my neighbor across the street. Ive been trying to grow watermelons for years, with little or no luck ( usually they just dont have enough time to ripen fully). Anyway, he was sitting on his front stoop, spit a seed into the dirt next to his driveway, and a few months later, was sharing his harvest with al the neighbors. I just dont get it.