Meat trimmings? Beef Stock?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MNTaxi

Cook
I just baught an 11 pount chunk of beef to can this morning. The meat is in the pressure cooker as I type this.

My question is this. . . . . ..

I got about 3/4 - 1lbs of trimmings off of this massive chunk of beef and it's probably 60/40 meat and fat. I was wondering if I could make beef stock out of these trimmings and than "can" the beef stock. I would just hate to waste this if I can do something with it.

I am very new to canning and have so far only done Beef, Bear, Tuna, Corn, Peaches, and a couple different jams.

So if anyone has a recipie for beef stock and the instructions on how to can it I would appreciate it. Right now I have the trimmings in a Zip lock bag in the frig.

Thanks

You could use those trimming to make a greasy soup, or if done correctly 2-3 cups of something like a consumme, add an equal amount of very lean ground beef and make a pot of greasy chili - but stock requires bones.

Read this: How to Make Beef Stock

Things I do differently are:

1) I use yellow onions and do not peel them - just cut the root end off and quarter them
2) I do not add galic, parsley or bay leaves - I may not want those flavors in what I'm making with the stock
3) I wouldn't even start if I'm not going to simmer this for less than 14-18 hours

I have heard that you can make stock in a pressure cooker - but I have never tried it and don't know how clear the stock would be.

To can it - follow the instructions for making the stock, and after refrigerating it over night and removing the layer of fat on the top, return it to a boil and ladel into hot pint or quart jars, leaving 1-inch headspace, and process in a pressure canner - see here for times and pressure settings.

Last edited: