Entertaining and Educational Cooking Shows?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

imlearning2cook

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am just starting to learn to cook but having a hard time finding my TV guru.

Are there any shows out their that can teach the basics of recipies, yet still be able to give me pointers in cooking. I find some of these shows to be too advanced for me. Entertainment is a plus.

Thanks

Well, on the Food Network Alton Brown's Good Eats is one good show (entertaining and informative if you want to know the science of what goes on in the kitchen on the stove or in the oven). Tyler Florence is pretty good - he has two shows How to Boil Water and Tyler's Ultimate ...

If you want to learn Italian then switch over to Fine Living network and catch Mario Batali - Emeril Green on the Green Network is toned down from his Live showman stick and actually is pretty informative. James Barber's Urban Peasant on ION-L network is another good show that is down to earth and simple to follow.

And, there are the shows on your local PBS station ... when they are on varies from market to market, they air on Saturday here and in other places they are aired on Sunday ... usually in the morning and in sometimes another couple of hours in the afternoon. America's Test Kitchen is a good one for understanding what does and doesn't work in a recipe ... but there are some other shows that are equally as informative but not in quite as "instructive" format as ATK.

That should get you started on a few ....

Jacques Pepin and Lidia Bastianich are on you local pbs channel regularly. Both will entertain you, give you great and uncomplicated recipes, and teach you techniques that will help you be a better cook.

I'd look for Alton Brown's Good Eats on the Food Network or America's Test Kitchen on PBS.