Basic chicken roasting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

synecdoche

Assistant Cook
Okay, I've got a wee little whole roaster chicken (~2 lbs). I've prepped it, and it is ready to go in the oven (stuffed with a lemon and some herbs). It is my first time doing this, and I have no clue how long to cook it for-- everywhere I go says something differently.

I want to keep it pretty low maintenance-- i've seen some recipes that call for keeping it at one temperature and then lowering it for a certain amount of time, but since I have to leave the house and will be leaving somebody around to "keep their eye on it," I don't want to have to leave detailed instructions.

I called my mom and she suggested about an hour at 350, but I'm worried that it won't be enough.

Other things... Uhm, I'm roasting it with some wedged sweet potatoes and acorn squash in the roasting pan. Oh, and some carrots.

Thanks!

You have a meat thermometer, right?

I'd roast it at 375 and check it after 45 minutes. 2 pounds is a really small bird.

Also, don't baste. You don't want to be opening the oven. Just coat with oil or butter beforehand and leave it alone.

For a 2# chicken I'd be more inclined to roast at about 425° for about 45 minutes. I like a higher temp - seems to make the chicken hold it's juiciness better. And for only 2# - well, that won't take very long. Just my 2 cents! :chef:

I hope it turned out okay. How did you end up roasting it?