Question About New Cooking Method

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Turkeyman

Cook
Hey all,

It's been a while since I've visited DC, thanks to school and actually forgetting the name of this site a few times. I'm glad I found it again, though! With that, I have a question about the very handy sear & bake method I've started using for just about everything. That is, searing the meat in an iron cast skillet for a few minutes and sticking the whole thing in the oven to finish. I have two nice iron cast skillets, one with grill ridges in it and the other flat-bottomed.

Unfortunately I'm a pretty novice cook, especially when it comes to telling if meats are done without cutting into them and wasting valuable juices. I almost always undercook them or dry them out unless I use sear & bake.

So finally, my question -- I've learned how to cook steak and boneless skinless chicken breasts using sear & bake, but wanted to see if anyone has had a similar experience with chicken drumsticks or chicken thighs? With it being winter and the grill covered up in the backyard, I want to use my iron cast grill pan to get some distinct grill marks on all sides of the drumsticks and then blast them in the oven. After searing on all sides for a total of 4-5 minutes, how long should I blast them in the oven and at what temperature? For chicken breast, it came out nicely with me searing 2 minutes a side on very high heat and then sticking it in a 325 F degree oven for about 20 minutes.

It's always disappointing messing up meat, since I have 5-6 rock solid marinades. The cooking itself is always the variable that messes up my dishes.

Thanks in advance for the help!