Bread baking temperature

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DoreenBrown

Assistant Cook
I'm kind of a novice at bread making but I've been pleased with my results. I bake my standard breads at 350 for 30 min. I have several bread books and all of them recommend a much higher temperature (up to 475) and for a much longer time (up to 1 hour). I'm really confused by this. If I try baking at a higher temperature or for a longer period my bread burns, or is too dry, or both. I'm a willing learner and I'd really like to understand what's going on (the scientist in me!). The 350 for 30 min. I got from a friend and I know cooking is really all about doing what works, but still...

First...hi, Doug. Welcome to DC. We're glad you have joined us.

Now, as for baking bread. I've been baking bread for about 40 years. Most of the breads I bake are baked at about 400 to 425 degrees F for around 15/20/25/30 minutes, depending on what type of bread it is and the kind of vessel used to bake it in/on.

I can't recall baking bread at 350 degrees F, but I would imagine there are instances where that is done. I just can't bring any to mind at the moment. Plus, again off the top of my head, I can't conceive of baking bread for an hour at a very high (475F) temp. Seems like too much heat for too long a time but, again, I could be wrong. I've just never done it myself.

It's late and I want to look at some of my bread references to check on some of what you relate. Best wishes on continued interest in baking breads.

Baking Temps

Doug,
You have ask the $64.00 question. (see how old I am)
I have found, get a temperature that works for what ever you are baking and stick with it.
I posted a thread a while back on baking problems.

I had three thermometers plus the one on the stove. All four read differently at any given time and the difference wasn't the same at all temperatures.