ISO Good Waffle Recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

surfol

Assistant Cook
Hey guys,

I'd like to experiment with making a waffle, and I'm looking for a good waffle recipe for:

1. Belgian waffles (crispy on the outside, soft inside)
2. Thin crispy waffles

I'm completely new to waffle-making, so please feel free to share any tips or techniques that are critical in waffle-making.

I've heard that you need to "fold the egg white", and I don't really understand what they mean with "folding".

So I'd appreciate if anyone can give their inputs on how to properly make a waffle, what kind of machines to use, and etc.

Thanks a bunch!

The best I've found, and there's no beating of the egg whites necessary, no folding them into the batter. These waffles are very light, very crisp on the outside, soft and moist inside, with superb flavor. One caution: the quality of your waffles will depend a great deal on the quality of your waffle iron. Make sure it's good and hot. Grease it or spray it with cooking spray. Cook until the steam stops coming out. Often the first one in any batch is for the dog.

BUTTERMILK WAFFLES

2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
½ cup (1 stick) melted butter (cooled)
1⅓ tablespoons sugar
⅓ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
1⅓ teaspoons baking powder
1 cup flour
¼ cup milk or additional butttermilk (if needed)

1. Beat eggs in large bowl with wire whisk until well blended.

2. Add buttermilk and mix well.

3. Add melted butter and mix well (note -- to keep butter from getting too hot, put it in a glass measuring cup and heat it in the microwave until it's not quite all melted, about 30 seconds on high, then stir and let it sit for a couple of minutes; heat another 10 seconds if not all melted, stir again).

4. Add sugar and salt and mix well.

5. Add baking soda and baking powder and mix until just blended in.