Fried Oysters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brinorwood

Assistant Cook
Ok Love oysters, Raw and fried..I am a fair cook, Give me a pork butt and I'll give you GOOD EATS. BUT!!!!!
I tried fring oysters.. Think main ploblem was. All I can get around here are the ones in a pint tup..I tried a dry coat, a wet then dry, and a batter. And ever time I got something close to gluey muck, and just fried goooo.. Can it be done with the Oysters you get in a tup?????
I tried draining and not drain them, Washing them off, Just lost ..

Thanks for any help.
Brian :sick:

:) Get a box of Zatarains Fried fish coating at the store follow the instructions.It's really easy then check the ingredients on box it's nothing more than seasoned corn meal and then make up your own from there on.
It also work with oysters from a container also make sure your oil is hot enough

Last edited:
Welcome to DC, Brian! :)

Having come from MD, the seafood in Atlanta is far from what we are used to but Mr HB loves fried oysters so much that I buy a tub every once in awhile. Our fresh seafood mkt is quite a drive and I don't get up there as often as I should.

First I blend up a sleever of saltines and season them with Old Bay and red pepper flakes.

Then I beat a few eggs.

Dip the oyster in eggs, then cracker crumbs, then eggs and another coat of crackers.

It's the way his mom made them so it makes him happy. I'm sure there will be more sophisticated versions around here soon.:)

Do what half baked says, but use cornmeal and flour mixture. Have the oil very hot and don't overcook.