ISO Sushi Fish : Do's and DONT'S!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BBQ Mikey

Sous Chef
Hey I'm just getting started in Sushi Making, and I see myself going into it pretty hardcore. Is there any fish that I certainly need to try (aside from smoked salmon, smoked eel, crab, shrimp?)

What should I avoid?? What can make me sick? Thats something no one has told me and I want to be very cautious. I love fish cooked or raw, but I know little about certain types.

Well so far all the fish you mentioned (smoked salmon, smoked eel, crab, shrimp) are cooked. Try getting some raw fish. Salmon and tuna are the most popular and probably easiest to find. As far as I know, there are no types of fish that can make you sick specifically because of the type. Any fish can make you sick if the quality is not up to par or if it is mishandled. Because of that you only want to buy your fish for sushi at someplace that you trust to have the best quality. Tell the person you are buying it from what you plan to use it for. If you trust them (and you should only buy from them if you do) then they will tell you if it is safe to eat raw or not.

Be careful to only use sashimi grade fish if you don't plan on cooking it. Dont just go to some corner grocery store for it.

Try lobster - it is one of the best - We use to go lobster diving in the Florida Keys -We would literally eat them "Fresh from the sea" - It really is great -

Lobster, scallop, abalone, shrimp, bonito, tuna, salmon, uni, wahoo, mackerel, monk fish liver or tail, Ayu, conger eel, halibut, char, squid tentacles,octopus, swordfish, flounder, rock fish are all great for sushi.