Need Fish Fry suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aesthete

Assistant Cook
I didn't know if i should post this here, or in outdoor cooking.

I just got back from a trip to my hometown, and eating at my favorite fish fry restaraunt made me want to have a fish fry of my own. I've never done it before, so I could use any advice. I have one of those turkey cookers to fry with. If I need a basket, i don't have one, but It probably wont be difficult to get one.

I was thinking I was going to use Canola Oil.

WHiting for the fish. (i have a great fish market to go to, so if there's a great fish fry fish, i'm open to suggestions. I've just usually had whiting)

Was going to grind some whole wheat flour for the coating, with some spices.

Probably just pick up a packet of hushpuppy mix unless I find a good recipe soon.

in addition to advice on the fish fry, anything I should give a shot while my deep fryer is up and running?

Never heard of hushpuppy mix but I guess it's what we call batter mix. Whiting? yep, love it. Would you like to try an egg mix? Say 1/2 dozen eggs well beaten with a tad of water or milk, roll the fish in the flour then dip in the egg mix, gives a great light finish.
Canola oil is good
No need for a basket

Fried fish is so yummy, however given I don't fry a lot in general I dont make it much at home anymore.

I agree with Attie that you should look at dipping the fish in egg for a crunchier, lighter finish.

The few times I have made it here is what I have done.

Season the fish first. I like everything seasoned so I use some lemon juice, cayanne pepper and a tiny bit of cumin. I mix it all into the fish fillets or strips. Leave it for 10 minutes or so (anylonger and it destroys the texture of the fish).

I liked using cornstarch which is lighter than regular flour or wheat flour.