Best Deep Dish Pizza

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rondo35

Assistant Cook
Just made the best deep dish pizza ever!! I have been working on the recipe for 3 years now. I never tasted anything sooo good!! I would love to share the recipe. Just PM me.

For the pizza dough:
1 package active dry or fresh yeast
1 teaspoon honey
1/2 cup warm water, 105 to 115 degrees F
1/2 cup warm whole milk 105 to 115 degrees F
2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup corn meal
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tbs extra virgin olive oil

toppings

one large white sweet onion
one med Vidalia onion
3 to 4 cloves garlic or more if you like garlic!!
3 bell peppers, red, yellow, green
red pepper flakes,
sea salt or Kosher
fresh ground black pepper
extra virgin olive oil (cold press) the good stuff!!
1/2 pound fresh Italian sweet sausage (get at Farmers market or Italian market.)
1/2 pound fresh Italian hot sausage
1 pack Crimini mushrooms
bunch fresh parsly flat leaf

cheeses

sliced Provolone
Montary Jack
Mozzarella
Fine ground Pecorino Romano

2 cans San Marazono Italian whole peeled tomatoes with basil.

Large Deep Dish Pizza Pan.

I think thats it for the ingredients?

Seems like a lot of ingredients but needed too get a taste thats out of this world!!

Last edited:
What size is your "large deep dish pizza pan"?

I bought one that I haven't used yet that seems huge to me, but that might just be because I've never made a deep-dish pizza before.

Okay, well now please describe the steps to make the dough, the assembly of the pie, and cooking times/temps.

I've made it in a 12 inch cast iron skillet. What size is your pan?

Thanks!

Lee