Blanching Chicken Wings?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Faust87

Assistant Cook
I have a question about blanching chicken wings.

I am about to start a job working at a restaurant where we will be serving chicken wings... I have never worked with raw chicken wings before for restaurant use, in the past they have all been precooked and frozen.

My question is how do you properly prepare raw chicken wings in a restaurant? How long do you blanch them for? and how do you store them afterwards...and for how long?

Thanks to all who help :)

You never blanch chicken. Wings or otherwise. Once you begin the cooking process, you must cook them completely. Partially cooking meats (blanching) creates a prime growth medium for bacteria.

So how does a restaurant prepare their wings and get them out in a timely fashion?

Steam, then fry.

Bring your steamer up to a boil. Put your wings in a steamer basket and then turn the heat down to medium and steam for about 10 minutes.

This cooks them nicely and removes a lot of excess fat too! Blanching/boiling just pull to much flavor out of the wing and make them overly soggy (water and hot fat! EEK).

Last edited:
Is this a new restaurant you will be working in? Otherwise if they are established, they will have specific procedures for cooking the wings already.

We have a restaurant down the street from us appropriately named "Wings". Sundays they have 39 cent wings all day and put out hundreds of plates of them. I know the chef there and went in to help one Sunday. As Andy says, they prep all the wings they think they will need ahead of time, then drop them back in the oil for 2-3 minutes to heat and crisp and then add seasonings and/or sauces for the 28 flavours they offer.