Can't cook a French omelet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tommyyate

Assistant Cook
I'm a newbie when it comes to cooking. I've been trying to make a classic french omelet. From what I understand, the right omelet should be cook fairly quickly without hardly any egg sticking to the pan.

I don't know if it the quality of my 10" frying pan (non-expensive non stick pan made by silverstone that I purchased at costco), my technique or my plain gas stove in my apartment, but I can't get to come out right.

One thing I must point out is that I cook with egg beaters and not eggs. And I use canola spray oil and not butter. I think this may make a difference on the way the omelet turns out but I'm not sure.

Can anyone give me any advice or offer up some suggestons? Thanks.

I LOVE omelets & make them a LOT. I make mine with regular eggs & butter. However, hubby will only eat omelets made with Egg Beaters or Egg Beaters "Just Whites", with canola spray oil as the pan lubricant.

As you've discovered, it's difficult to get these to turn out "right". Or better said, the way you see regular-egg omelets turning out. I've yet to find a way to get hubby's omelets to turn out as nice as mine, although the few times I did sneak in butter instead of the canola oil spray, I did get a better result.

Thanks Andy M. I actually saw that episode last week and happened to be taking notes. I'm glad to see it's on youtube because it was fillied with all sorts of tips.