Coconut Oil

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redkitty

Executive Chef
I bought some organic coconut oil when I was home last and have been using it as a weekly deep conditioner on my hair.

I've been reading loads about the benefits of coconut oil, not just hair & skin but cooking with it as well. Just curious, do you use it? If so, how do you use it and do you find it better than other oils or butter?

Thanks! ;)

I read that coconut oil is something like 90% saturated fat and as such is probably not so wonderful to consume. I'm not an expert but I think I would use something else in my cooking and save that for my hair.

I use coconut oil quite a bit.

It's high in fat, but it's not hydrogenated so I really don't care. I'm not one of these people who is real anal about depriving myself of this or that on the guise that "it's not good for you". It tastes good, it infuses good flavor into foods, so I use it.

The only thing I'm not real big on with it is the fact that it has a relatively low smoke point.

I use coconut oil quite a bit.

It's high in fat, but it's not hydrogenated so I really don't care. I'm not one of these people who is real anal about depriving myself of this or that on the guise that "it's not good for you". It tastes good, it infuses good flavor into foods, so I use it.

The only thing I'm not real big on with it is the fact that it has a relatively low smoke point.

All oils are 100% fat, but there's a big difference between saturated and unsaturated fats. I don't deprive myself, either, but there are alternatives to coconut oil that taste perfectly good and are much healthier: olive, canola and peanut oils lower the bad fat and increase the good fat in your blood, while coconut oil increases both: Fats & Cholesterol: Nutrition Source, Harvard School of Public Health

If anyone has cholesterol issues, they should avoid coconut oil. HTH.