Cooking and weight gain

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

t.o girl

Assistant Cook
hey guys i'm new to this wonderuful forum. i would like to get some insight.

basically, i just started cooking on the regular basis since September last year. Bofore that, i ate out a lot and would go out to expensive restaurants once or twice a week...i like gourmet, classy food...however last september, i thought i would grow up and start cooking home. I took 3 10-weeks courses and i'm planning to do 2 more. I learned about french, italian, greek, caribean, mediterranean cuisine...and i have been practicing a lot...

so the problem is since then i have gained 25 pounds and counting!!!how do i stop this weight gain, how do i balance cooking, tasting, eating gourmet meals and dieting?

Well, the good news is that doing your own home cooking is a actually a good way to LOSE weight. I’ve found the most important trick is to match the types of food you’re cooking for your body and try to cook healthy meals. Everyone has a different body chemistry so some people will stay lean on pasta or red meat, but others will pack on the pounds. If you have the time and money you may want to get a consultation with a nutritionist and run a blood test. Once you know which foods you should specifically target and which to avoid you can update your cooking techniques.
After that you should start to plan out your menu. Keeping consistent will help your body get used to its new regimen. I’d recommend doing simple meals for dinner or starting a plan with a specific ingredient every night. Monday chicken night, Tuesday soup night…ect. Finally, try to find new recipes centered around very healthy ingredients. I’ve found lentils to be especially fun to work with since they act like a flavor sponge and they are cheap as dirt so you can throw them out if it doesn’t work.