Cooking with Oil?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sephora

Washing Up
I am "frying challenged" and I need some help. I have a couple of "deep fried" recipes that involve batter and dredging through flower. I don't eat fried food that often but have a craving every once in a while. My problem is I'm not very good at working with the oil and need some tips. Last night I had my oil, tested it with bread, did one onion stick and it was all good. I had to go turn the burgers came back and attempted three more. The oil splattered and I ended up catching a splatter on my eye. I pulled the pan off and got the onions out, but didn't proceed with the rest.

What am I doing wrong and are there tricks to pan frying or should I go buy a fry machine?

Thanks.

Sephora, you need to stay with hot fat, never leave it for any reason. Make sure your hands are dry (water will make it spit), and pat dry whatever you are putting in the fat. You might try using a slotted spoon to lower stuff into the fat so that it doesn't plop in there and spatter. You can also buy spatter screens at any dollar store. Hope some of that helps you. Welcome to DC.

It could be that the oil got too hot while you left to go turn your burgers. Once you get the oil to the right temperature, you have to adjust the burner to maintain that temp. Give it another try. If you have a candy/deep fry thermometer, use it to help maintain the proper temperature.

One of the benefits of a deep fryer is that it maintains constant temperature for you (or as close as possible). Since you don't deep fry all that often, you may not get the benefit of a deep fryer. If you do decide to get one, check out earlier posts. There are a lot of good suggestions.

Also, many things that are traditionally deep fried, like chicken, french fries, etc. can be "oven fried" with waaaaaay less oil and bother.

Post if you want to know how.