Cooking wth Splenda

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VeraBlue

Executive Chef
I've been exercising like a fiend lately...and eating a diet low in fat and sugar and high in vegetables, fruits and lean proteins. Since July 9th, I've dropped close to 15 pounds. Great for me.

I don't feel deprived since I'm seeing such nice results, but I want a sweet treat from time to time. Sure, I do the sugar free/fat free jello, and the 100 calorie pack cookies...but, I'm a chef. I like to bake. I miss that.

Anyone have any input on actually baking with spenda? I made a lemon angel food cake this morning with 10 egg whites, a cup of cake flour, lemon zest and while the recipe called for a cup and a half of sugar, I used a cup and a half of splenda. The cake didn't rise. It seems soft enough, but not as airy as your typical angel food cake, which rises to the top and over.

Had I used sugar, 1/14 of the cake would have had 130 cals, no fat, 3 grams of protein and I think 22 grams of sugar. If it tastes fine (and how could it not?) I may be willing to overlook height for diminished calories and sugar grams.

Now, if this was a muffin, I'd have been disappointed. I like a muffin that has a bit of height.

Barb L said:
No experience here - have you tried googling -baking with Spenda ? Love my Google !

Yes, splenda has a whole website for that sort of thing. There were quite a bit of recipes, but not all that many were low fat. They seem more geared to diabetes than low fat.
Unfortunately, the low fat websites let you use sugar!

Cannot these people understand that I want to consume air and be fine! hehe.