Deep Fry Oil Reuse

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chef_biz

Assistant Cook
I recently got a deep fryer for Christmas and I'm new to this technique. So far, I've mainly used it for fries, but I also made shrimp. My question is, how good is the reuse of the oil (right now it is peanut oil I believe)? It has been in the deep fryer for about 2 weeks or a little longer. Beyond taste, would it be safe to still use? It looks and smells fine. I don't want to go buy more oil if I don't really have to. Thanks

p.s. I've known it is reusable I just don't know any of the guidelines if there are any.

If you ask any nutritionist that's studied fats they will tell you to NEVER re-use oil. I don't know the exact science, but I do know that heat breaks down fat. As fat decays, free radicals are formed. These free radicals are blamed for a host of health problems including cancer.

This being said, using fresh oil every day can be expensive and not terribly practical. Impurities speed the process of decay as does air and light. I don't deep fry, but if I did, I'd pass the oil through a coffee filter before storing it. I'd also seek out extremely fresh oil to begin with and I'd utilize containers/cooking implements with as little exposure to air/light as possible.

Even taking these steps, though, I wouldn't use oil more than two or three times.

Don't think that I suffer from food phobia either. I eat plenty of smoked food, grilled food, saturated fats, eggs, butter, salt, artificial sweeteners and food grown with pesticides. You name a food that's been link with health concerns and I practically live on it. But re-using deep fryer oil indiscriminately- that I won't do.

Gawd, Scott, I'll never eat fried food at a restaurant again, lol! The two restaurants I worked at changed their oil once a week - maybe!