Edible Printing Paper...please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jared_mizanin

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I am trying to make sugar beer bottles for an upcoming cake I am planning on making (it's going to be difficult!). I hope to add labels to the sugar bottles, so they will resemble the real deal. But I know NOTHING about edible paper, and nothing about edible printing. As a photographer, I do own a couple very nice Canon printers...but I'm not sure if there is a specialized food printer needed for this job or if a normal printer can do so. If a normal photo printer can do the job, do you need special ink? I know these questions make me sound like a moron (I am!) but I figured I'd better ask :)

As well, where can I find edible paper? There is a Michael's Crafts store nearby...

You might find the edible sheets under the names "rice paper", "frosting sheets" and Wilton has a brand out now called "Sugar Sheets". There is a brand of edible ink called "Kopy Kake" that works on some Canon and Epson printers; however you must clean it with a food safe conversion kit before use. All of these products can be found on the Kopy Kake site. I converted my Epson through them but I buy my sheets through a Canadian Online Supplier.

An easier and much cheaper way to go, especially if you aren't going to keep using the sheets, is to copy the items you want printed on sugar to an 8x10 size and take it to a local bakery or instore bakery where they do transfers for cakes. Here in BC I have got them done for anywhere from $6 to $15 per sheet.

Hope this helps.

I forgot to mention that the Wilton Sugar Sheets are available at Michaels.

As for using the edible pens on sugar sheets, I am really not sure if that will work. I guess I need to know more about your project.
- are you using molds to make your bottles?