Fleur De Sel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GB

Chief Eating Officer
I went to Penzys over the weekend and treated myself to a container of Fleur De Sel. I have never used this before and have been dying to try it for quite a while. I am thinking of sprinkling a little on a steak (after cooking of course). Do you think this is a good use or will the subtle flavor of the salt be lost using it this way? What type of things have you used this salt on?

Oh, Penzey's! I've been buying all my spices from them for years. There are no stores real near here - when I get to one, I have a big list & usually drop $100 plus! I keep a lot of my spices in the freezer & refill my jars when they get low. Penzey's is so much better - and cheaper - than supermarket stuff.
I believe that the Fleur De Sel is known as a "finishing salt" so it would be perfect for cooked steak - or anything else that is ready to eat. Not the best salt to use during the cooking process - probably because of the cost, for one thing.

Corinne

Welcome to the site Corrine!

Yes Penzys is a wonderful place. I have dropped quite a bit of $$$ there, but it has always been well worth it. They just opened a store near me (about an hour away, but close to my in laws) so I have made a few trips there.

Yes Fleur De Sel is a finishing salt, but I don't think you would want to use it on just anything. The flavor is very delicate and subtle and could get lost in a lot of things. For instance, I do not think I would sprinkle it on the chili I just made as there are too many other flavors that the salt would have to compete with. It is a very expensive salt so I would want to make sure to only use it when it will make a noticeable difference. Have you tried it before? What have been your experiences with it?

GB: