hints and tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nick85

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I've just started to get more into cooking and am looking for some advice.

As I'm only really cooking for myself most of the time things like herbs go off before I have used all of the packet. This is obviously a bit annoying, is there any way of getting them to last longer? Is dried as good as fresh?

Is there a website or a book that can show me basic cooking skills e.g how to chop properly?

I live in a shared house with friends and the knives are quite blunt. What's the best way to make them sharper? Stone or one of those sharpening metal rod things ( see told you I was an amateur, I don't know the real name ;) )

Is there any advice you wish you were told when you first started?

thank you

Nick

Hi :)
I hope you will become an addict of cooking ;)

I can help for a few questions you've asked but not everything,
For the herbs, best way that I keep them it's in some water (like flowers) that I change regularly (everyday) If it's too hot in my place, I put that glass of water in the fridge, they are hydrated in a cool place. You can keep them longer like that.
If you don't like having a glass full of water in your fridge, put an absorbent paper in fresh water, put it in an alluminium paper and roll that thing around the bottom of your herbs, put that in the fridge, you have to change the absorbent paper every day too.

Herbs can also be frozen, but if you don't have a whole bunch of it, I don't see the point of doing it. My mom often had "bouquets garnis" individually frozen in bags at home, that she unfrozened when she wanted to do a roast or something with it.