How did you learn to cook?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenny1999

Senior Cook
I have been learning through web and cooking for more than 10 years but I think I still have too much to improve, do you think learning through books or lesson or just youtube video is enough?

I've always been interested in cooking. I used to watch my mom cook dinners. My dad was a chef. In the evenings, I was called upon to fetch the typewriter and type out recipes my dad dictated.

As I got older, I cooked occasionally and started to watch Food Network on TV. Back then, there were actual cooking shows with chefs preparing dishes. I watched Julia Child and Jacques Pepin on PBS. I watched Jeff Smith, Nick Stellino, Caprille Pence, Biba Gagiano. I had to furiously jot down recipes as the chefs called out ingredients and added them to the pot. I got cookbooks from the library. It was a lot more difficult back then as the internet was not as developed as it is today.

When I was able to practice cooking, I improved my skills gradually and learned more of the workings of foods and heat.

Now I do just about all the cooking at home, preparing all dinners for the two of us.

I really enjoy cooking for my family when we all gather to celebrate a holiday or just to get together.

I learned by watching, reading, re-inventing the wheel, and trial & error, and a whole lot of practice, paying attention to how foods and ingredients worked together, and how they responded to different cooking methods. I also used to purchase herbs and spices of every variety I could find, and learned to identify them with my eyes closed, by smell. This allows me to determine what flavors, and ingredients are used if I have something I enjoy while eating out, so I can remake it at home. It's a handy skill to have.:)

Seeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North